Monday, October 18, 2004

Dynamic range

The dynamic range consists of five stops of light tonality. The dynamic range contains image detail from white to black. It allows the photographer to set a point along the range for each tone by deciding which tones to let fall away.
These are the five tones of the dynamic range:
1. white with detail
2. light gray
3. middle gray
4. dark gray
5. black with detail

See additional information at "Use the dynamic range."